Skip to main content

McCauley’s, Alltech and the International Alliance of Equestrian Journalists announce A+ Award winners

August 29, 2019

L-R: Susanna Elliott of Alltech, journalists Shannon Brinkman, Jenni Autry, and Ann Glavan, who accepted on behalf of Mollie Bailey, Meghan Niehaus of Alltech, and Marty Bauman, press chief for the Land Rover Kentucky 3-Day Event. Photo credit: Allen MacMillan. Sébastien Roullier, Łukasz Kowalski and Jan Tönjes were recognized at the FEI European Championships in Rotterdam, NED.  

McCauley’s, Alltech and the International Alliance of Equestrian Journalists (IAEJ) are pleased to announce the winners of the McCauley’s Alltech A+ Journalism Awards for outstanding coverage of international equestrian sport in 2018.

The A+ Journalism Awards were established in 2010 by Alltech, in collaboration with the IAEJ, to recognize and reward creativity, passion and excellence in equestrian journalism.

Winners of the McCauley’s Alltech A+ Journalism Awards for 2018 coverage

Article: Sébastien Roullier, Asnières-sur-Seine, France. “Special Dossier FEI World Equestrian Games Tryon 2018: Endurance,” published in Grand Prix magazine, Oct. 2018 issue.

Broadcast: Jenni Autry, Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, United States. “WEG 2018: Sam Tells All” podcast interview with Sam Watson on Sept. 25, 2018.

Photo: Łukasz Kowalski, Tarnowskie Góry, Poland. “If you can’t beat it, enjoy it!” Photo of a dressage rider smiling with outstretched hand in the rain, published on on June 16, 2018.

“Because of the talent and tireless dedication of journalists such as Sébastien, Jenni and Lukasz, the world can continue to bear witness to the power and passion of horse sport,” said Susanna Elliott, head of communications of Alltech. “It is a privilege for us to honor them.”

Autry is a repeat winner, having won last year in the Broadcast Category. Roullier is also a repeat winner, having won in the Article Category in 2014. Kowalski is a first-time winner and the awards’ first winner from Poland.

Each of the winners will receive a McCauley’s Alltech A+ Journalism Award trophy and a US$500 prize.

This year’s judging yielded very close runner-up entries in all three categories. Honorable mentions are thereby awarded to:

Article: Mollie Bailey, Middleburg, Virginia, United States. “#MeToo: The Story of a Trainer, a Trophy and an All-Too-Common Betrayal,” published in The Chronicle of the Horse, April 2018.

Broadcast: Jan Tönjes, Hamburg, Germany. “Isabell Werth’s winning dressage ride on Bella Rose” podcast episode at the FEI World Equestrian Games Tryon 2018, published on and on Sept. 14, 2018.

Photography: Shannon Brinkman, New Orleans, Louisiana, United States. “Adrienne Sternlicht and Cristalline” at the FEI World Equestrian Games Tryon 2018, published on on Dec. 26, 2018.

The judges for the 2018-19 McCauley’s Alltech A+ Awards included Frank Kemperman, chairman of the Managing Board CHIO Aachen and of the FEI Dressage Committee; Peter Llewellyn, renowned sports and nature photographer and photo services manager of the 2015 Pan American Games; and Alan Smith, The Daily Telegraph’s equestrian correspondent for 48 years.

The International Alliance of Equestrian Journalists thanked the Lyons family and the staff at McCauley’s and Alltech for their generous support of equestrian sports, equestrian journalism and the IAEJ over the past nine years.

“The IAEJ is extremely grateful to Alltech and McCauley’s for their recognition of the media and its contribution to equestrian sport,” said Pamela Young, IAEJ president.