快速增长中的世界所需的蛋白质



    到2050年,世界人口预计将上升至93亿。我们怎样才能提供足够的蛋白质?畜牧业需要的耕地和淡水,这两者都比较紧缺。增加捕捞鱼类似乎也不可行,因为野生鱼类已经在骤减。水产养殖可以填补了蛋白质紧缺吗?它会持续的提供我们所需的蛋白质,还是将推动野生鱼类物种灭绝?

    水产养殖和污染

    有关水产养殖的主要投诉来自于水污染,而传统的沿海养鱼场便是受害者。鱼的排泄物和食物残渣玷污了浅水水域,造成藻类大量繁殖,并杀死海洋生物。创新的渔民和研究人员正在进行革新,由远海区代替沿海。例如,一些生产商使用的是巨大的水下笼子,在远海区抛锚可以让强气流带着废物进入公海,进而被稀释和被浮游生物消耗。

    水产养殖和鱼粉

    许多最流行的水产养殖品种是大型食肉鱼,如金枪鱼和鲑鱼。这些鱼市场价格高,很容易看到为什么被养殖。伴随着野生金枪鱼渔业的崩溃,似乎养殖的金枪鱼和鲑鱼将预示着作为一个可持续发展的替代物种。养殖鱼类可能不是野生鱼,但他们吃的野生鱼类,通常鱼粉由凤尾鱼和沙丁鱼构成。这些小型饲料鱼支持着海洋食物链,因此过度捕捞凤尾鱼和沙丁鱼可以消灭整体的海洋生物。

    水产养殖每年增长7.5%。随着产量的增加,它会变得越来越重要。减少或消除野生鱼作为饲料来源,在近几十年来已取得了进展。曾经普遍的做法喂食整个沙丁鱼。在许多地方,这种做法已被混合鱼料取代,水产饲料由鱼粉,豆粕等成分组成。大豆,和许多其他商品作物一样供不应求,他们需要大量的土地和水。如果水产养殖是减少对土地和水的使用,以减轻压力,那么,我们需要减少鱼料中的农产品比例。

    水产养殖和海藻

    也许,我们需要看食物链更低层,低于沙丁鱼和凤尾鱼的做鱼料。藻类位于海洋食物链最底层,也是DHA的来源,ω-3脂肪酸,使鱼等健康食品。海藻已经被用来生产DHA的婴幼儿配方奶粉,牛奶和果汁。海藻可能帮助水产养殖业,找到真正的可持续性。

    奥特奇的海藻生产在不断增长 [+]

Protein for a Growing World



Alltech Aquaculture Center

A look at the Alltech Aquaculture Center

By 2050 the world’s population is predicted to rise to 9.3 billion. How can we provide enough protein for all of those hungry mouths? Animal agriculture requires arable land and fresh water, both of which are in short supply. Increased fishing doesn’t seem to be a viable option as wild fish populations are already plummeting. Can aquaculture help to fill the gap? Will it help us feed ourselves sustainably or will it drive wild fish species to extinction?

Aquaculture and Pollution

One of the main complaints about aquaculture is the water pollution often associated with conventional coastal fish farms. Fish waste and food scraps from these farms cloud the shallow waters, cause algal blooms and kill marine life beneath the pens. Innovative fish farmers and researchers are working on offshore alternatives to coastal pens. For instance, some producers are using enormous submerged cages anchored far enough offshore to allow strong currents to carry the waste out to the open ocean where it is diluted and consumed by plankton.

Aquaculture and Fishmeal

Many of the most popular aquaculture species are large predatory fish like tuna and salmon. These fish command high prices at market so it is easy to see why fish farmers have focused on them. With the collapse of wild tuna fisheries, it seems farm-raised tuna and salmon would be heralded as a sustainable substitute to endangered wild species. Farmed fish may not be wild fish but they eat wild fish, usually fishmeal made from anchovies and sardines. These small forage fish support the ocean’s food chain so overfishing of anchovies and sardines could decimate marine life as a whole.

Aquaculture is growing at 7.5% per year. As production increases it will become ever more important to reduce or eliminate wild fish as a feed source. Progress has been made in recent decades. It was once common practice to feed whole sardines to aquaculture stocks. In many places this practice has been replaced with feeding formulated, aquaculture feed that is made up of fishmeal, soybean meal and other ingredients. Soybeans, and many other commodity crops are in short supply already, and they require a lot of land and water. If aquaculture is to lessen the pressure on land and water use then we need to minimize the amount of agricultural products that go into fish feed.

Aquaculture and Algae

Perhaps we need to look a little lower on the food chain than sardines and anchovies for fish food. Algae are at the very bottom of the marine food chain and the source of DHA, the omega-3 fatty acid that makes fish such a healthy food. Algae are already being produced as a source of DHA supplements for infant formula, milk and juice. Algae may help the aquaculture industry find true sustainability.

Alltech's Algae Production is Growing [+]