粮食短缺



    养活全世界

    How will Agriculture be able to feed the 9 billion people populating the earth in 2050

    畜牧生产商与粮食价格上涨已斗争多年,饲料占动物生产成本的60-70%,投资替代品已成为一种必然。有几个因素促成的粮食问题,包括全球的天气条件下是难以预料和无法控制的。在任何一年,世界不可能将是完全没有旱灾或水灾。在全球经济与粮食生产的巨大需求,区域短缺迅速成为世界范围内短缺。

    生物燃料

    对可再生燃料的需求已经对玉米供应产生压力。饲料成本大幅上升,强制性生产乙醇也在升温。乙醇生产的政治可能会像食品价格一样上涨,但现在,牲畜生产者不能完全依靠玉米。过去几年动物日粮中发现各种各样的替代饲料。然而,这些来源都不充足或不受天气条件。
     

    人口增长

    到2050年,全球人口预计将超过90亿。这个数字是很难理解的。如果你认为目前的增长速度是平均每天超过200,000人,那么就不难想象多少额外的食物是每天必需的。随着人口的增加,需要更多的耕地修建房屋,工厂,道路等。在一定的时刻,我们生产的粮食将不能满足增长的需求。

    替代饲料

    纤维素可以成为动物饲料的重要来源。植物纤维,如木材和稻草,他们储存量丰富,主要由纤维素,聚合物结合在一起,以提供植物的力量和支持的糖分子组成。酶可用于分离纤维素和其他植物纤维来释放糖和其他营养物质。牛和其他草食动物在瘤胃微生物酶的帮助分解纤维素。纤维素也可在酶的帮助下,可以转化为家禽和猪等非反刍动物的饲料。这个自然过程被称为固态发酵,采用真菌分解成较小,易消化分子纤维素。

    固态发酵可以帮助农场主找到粮食替代物 [+]

Grain Shortages



Feeding the World

How will Agriculture be able to feed the 9 billion people populating the earth in 2050

Livestock producers have struggled with rising grain prices for years now and with feed accounting for 60 - 70% of the costs for animal production, investing in alternatives has become a necessity. Several factors have contributed to the grain problem including global weather conditions which are difficult to predict and impossible to control. In any given year it is unlikely that the world will be completely free of droughts or floods. In a global economy with enormous demands on grain producers, regional shortages quickly become worldwide shortages.

Biofuels

Demand for renewable fuel has put stress on corn supplies. The animal agriculture industry has seen feed costs rise dramatically as mandated ethanol production has ramped up. The politics of ethanol production may change as food prices rise, but for now livestock producers cannot rely entirely on corn. A wide variety of alternative feedstuffs have found their way into animal diets in the last few years, however, none of these sources are overly abundant or immune to weather conditions.

Population Growth

The global population is predicted to exceed 9 billion by the year 2050. That number is hard to comprehend. If you consider that the current growth rate is over 200,000 people per day then it is easy to imagine how much additional food is required each day. As the population increases, more farm land is developed for houses, factories, roads, etc. At some point we will not be able to plant enough grain to meet the growing demand.

Alternative Feed

Cellulose could become a very significant source of animal feed. Plant fibers like wood and straw, which are incredibly abundant, are composed mostly of cellulose, a polymer of sugar molecules bound together to provide strength and support for plants. Enzymes can be used to break apart cellulose and other plant fibers to release the sugars and other nutrients. Cattle and other grazing animals break down cellulose with the help of microbial enzymes in the rumen. Cellulose can also be turned into feed for non-ruminant animals like poultry and swine with the help of enzymes. This natural process is called solid state fermentation and it employs fungi to break cellulose down into smaller, digestible molecules.

Solid state fermentation can help farmers find alternatives to grain [+]